Logo - Clark County Ohio Solid Waste District

About Us


The District’s Mission is to ensure that comprehensive, high-quality solid waste services are available to Clark County residents and businesses, and to supply environmental education and assistance to the community that will promote cost-effective and self-supporting waste reduction programs.


The District prepares a 15-year Solid Waste Management Plan  that sets out goals and programs for the district. The plan is updated every five years and the update is ratified by political entities representing at least 60 percent of the county's population and by the county commissioners, as well as being approved by Ohio EPA. To see the current Solid Waste Management Plan for the years 2013-2027, click here.

The Policy Committee is working on the latest update of the Solid Waste Management Plan and is expected to submit a draft to Ohio EPA in April 2018. As part of our research for possible new programs, we have been making videos of what some other solid waste districts do. To read about these programs and view these videos, click here.

Click on the links to see past Solid Waste Management Plans for the years 2007-2022 and 2000-2014.

Minutes of the Solid Waste Policy Committee meetings can be found here.

Board of Directors
Richard Lohnes, County Commissioner
Lowell McGlothin, County Commissioner
Melanie Flax Wilt, County Commissioner

Solid Waste District Policy Committee
Karen Duncan Tim McDaniel
David Farrell Charles Patterson
Len Hartoog Melanie Flax Wilt

Technical Advisory Council
Bill Boone Larry Ricketts
Bill Cook Connie Strobbe
Sandy Henry Marshall Whitacre
Anne Kaup-Fett Merritt Wichner
Chris Moore  

District Staff
Chuck Bauer, Director cbauer@clarkcountyohio.gov
Ray Anderson, Recycling Facility Worker randerson@clarkcountyohio.gov
Deputy George Bennett, Environmental Officer gbennett@clarkcountyohio.gov
John Haughey, Recycling Facility Manager jhaughey@clarkcountyohio.gov
Bonnie Martens, Program Assistant bmartens@clarkcountyohio.gov
Linda Mitchell, GAC Assistant lmitchell@clarkcountyohio.gov
Steve Schlather, Program Coordinator sschlather@clarkcountyohio.gov
Deputy Brad Tillman, Environmental Officer btillman@clarkcountyohio.gov